METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS 777 North Capitol Street, N.E. Washington, D.C. 20002-4290

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE APPOINTMENT OF A CHAIR FOR THE METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENT'S POLICY ADVISORY COMMITTEES

WHEREAS, the bylaws of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG) authorize the Board of Directors to establish policy advisory committees in high priority areas; and

WHEREAS, these policy advisory committees play a vital role in supporting and updating the Board on various topics; and

WHEREAS, several of the committee's bylaws authorize the Board of Directors to select the Vice Chair(s) of the policy committees; and

WHEREAS, the following policy committees support the COG Board of Directors and require such appointments: Metropolitan Development Policy Committee (MDPC), Human Services Policy Committee (HSPC), and the Public Safety Policy Committee (PSPC).

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS THAT:

The Board of Directors approves the appointment of the following members as Vice Chair of their respective policy advisory committees: MDPC- Kwame Brown, District of Columbia and Thomas Dernoga, Prince George's County; HSPC- George Leventhal, Montgomery County and Hilda Barg, Prince William County; PSPC- Terry Seamens, Takoma Park and Paul Smedberg, Alexandria.
