One Region Moving Forward

March 2, 2012

District of Columbia Bladensburg* **Bowie**

Charles County College Park Frederick Frederick County Gaithersburg Greenbelt

Montgomery County Prince George's County

Rockville Takoma Park Alexandria Arlington County Fairfax Fairfax County Falls Church Loudoun County Manassas Manassas Park

*Adjunct Member

Prince William County

Honorable Dereck E. Davis, Chair **Economic Matters Committee** House Office Building, Room 231 6 Bladen Street

Annapolis, MD 21401

RE: Support HB 1280 - Electric Vehicle Users and Charging Stations

Dear Delegate Davis,

On behalf of the Board of Directors of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG), I urge you to support HB 1280, which exempts electric vehicle charging stations from public utility regulation.

This foundational piece of legislation promotes wider adoption of electric vehicles by eliminating regulatory uncertainty around charging stations. The availability of charging facilities is a key factor in the decision to buy or lease an electric vehicle. However, the current level of uncertainty about whether charging stations will be regulated as utilities has hindered the expansion of electric vehicle infrastructure.

Electric vehicles help reduce air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions while promoting energy independence. It is criticial that Maryland creates a clear policy framework to promote private investment in electric vehicle infrastructure.

The Council of Governments supports the advancement of electric vehicle technology through its Regional EV Planning Initiative. Working groups are developing key recommendations to facilitate an EV Infrastructure plan for the greater Washington area, including forecasts of EV deployment and needs for charging infrastructure.

To that end, we urge you to support HB 1280 as an important step toward developing a clear and robust electric vehicle policy framework for the region.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Frank J. Principi, Chairman COG Board of Directors

House Economic Matters Committee cc:

777 North Capitol Street, NE, Suite 300, Washington, D.C. 20002 202.962.3200 (Phone) 202.962.3201 (Fax) 202.962.3213 (TDD)