Item 3

TPB Technical Committee Meeting Highlights March 4, 2011

The Technical Committee met on March 4 at COG. Eight items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda on March 16.

TPB agenda Item 7

The Committee was briefed on the major projects for the air quality conformity assessment for the 2011 CLRP submitted by transportation agencies which were released on February 10 for a 30-day public comment period that will end March 12.

TPB agenda Item 8

The Committee was briefed on the draft scope of work for the air quality conformity assessment for the 2011 CLRP which was released for a 30-day public comment period that will end March 12.

• TPB agenda Item 9

The Committee reviewed the project amendments and associated budgets in the current FY 2011 UPWP that will be carried over to FY 2012. The Committee recommended that the FY 2011 amendments and carryover funding be presented for the Board's approval at its March 16 meeting.

TPB agenda Item 10

The Committee was briefed on the final draft Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) for FY 2012 (July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012). The Committee recommended that the final version of the FY 2012 UPWP be presented for the Board's approval at its March 16 meeting.

TPB agenda Item 11

The Committee was briefed on the final draft Commuter Connections Work Program (CCWP) for FY 2012 (July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012). The Committee recommended that the final version be presented for the Board's approval at its March 16 meeting.

TPB agenda Item 12

The Committee reviewed the three project submissions for an amendment to the 2010 CLRP as requested by VDOT to modify the I-95/395 HOV/HOT Lanes Project, add a ramp from the HOV Lanes of I-395 to Seminary Road, and add the extension of I-66 HOV and General Purpose Lanes from Route 29 to Route 15 in Prince William County. The Committee also reviewed the associated draft air quality conformity analysis scope of work.

• TPB agenda Item 13

The Committee was briefed on a draft list of highlighted freight transportation projects developed by the Regional Freight Planning Subcommittee of the TPB Technical Committee which include one long-term and one short-term project for each freight railroad and one each for the District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia.

TPB agenda Item 14

The Committee was briefed on the Spring 2011 Street Smart Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety Campaign, and the status of funding for the Fall 2011 and Spring 2012 campaigns.

Three items were presented for information and discussion:

- The Committee was briefed on the draft work scope and schedule to develop a Regional Priorities Plan that was reviewed by the TPB Priorities Plan Scoping Task Force on February 16.
- The Committee was briefed on the application process and schedule for local jurisdictions to submit applications for FY 2012 technical assistance under the Transportation/Land Use Connection (TLC) Program to advance their transportation and land use coordination activities.
- Staff updated the Committee on activities and progress on implementing the TPB Regional Priority Bus Project under a \$58 million TIGER grant being administered by FTA.

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE - March 4, 2011

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

DDOT Mark Rawlings
DCOP Colleen Mitchal

MARYLAND

Charles County -----

Frederick Co. John Thomas City of Frederick Tim Davis

Gaithersburg -----

Montgomery Co. Gary Erenrich Prince George's Co. Vic Weissberg

Rockville -----

M-NCPPC

Montgomery Co. -----

Prince George's Co. Faramarz Mokhtari

MDOT Lyn Erickson

MTA -----Takoma Park ------

VIRGINIA

Alexandria Pierre Holloman Arlington Co. Jennifer Fioretti City of Fairfax Alexis Verzosa Fairfax Co. Robert Owolabi

Falls Church -----

Loudoun Co. George Phillips

Manassas -----

Prince William Co. Monica Backmon

NVTC -----

PRTC Anthony Foster

Michael Weinberger

Nick Alexandrow

VRE -----

VDOT Kanathur Srikanth VDRPT David Awbrey

NVPDC ------VDOA ------

WMATA

WMATA Mark Kellogg

FEDERAL/OTHER

FHWA-DC ------FHWA-VA ------

FTA Melissa Barlow

NCPC -----NPS -----MWAQC ------

COG Staff

Ronald Kirby, DTP Gerald Miller, DTP Mark Pfoutz, DTP Bob Griffiths, DTP Mark Moran, DTP Jane Posey, DTP Andy Meese, DTP Andrew Austin, DTP Michael Farrell, DTP Nick Ramfos, DTP Elena Constantine, DTP Eric Randall, DTP Karin Foster, DTP Dusan Vuksan, DTP John Swanson, DTP Sarah Crawford, DTP Feng Xie, DTP William Bacon, DTP Joan Rohlfs, DEP

Other Attendees

Randy Carroll, MDE

Art Smith Eric Sutton Bill Orleans