# **TPB Technical Committee Meeting Highlights**

## November 2, 2012

The Technical Committee met on November 2 at COG. Five items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda on November 28.

#### • <u>TPB agenda Item 8</u>

Since the FY 2013 UPWP was approved in March, the funding allocations provided by DDOT, MDOT and VDOT have been revised to reflect updates in new FY 2013 funding and adjustments in the unobligated FY 2011 funding. The Committee was briefed on an amendment to revise the budget and work elements to reflect the funding changes. The TPB will be asked to approve this amendment at it November 28 meeting.

#### • TPB agenda Item 9

On May 21, 2012, EPA issued the final designation for the 2008 Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS), with the Washington Metropolitan Area designated as marginal nonattainment. This designation requires a new air quality conformity analysis of the Washington region's 2012 CLRP and FY 2013-2018 TIP that will include the region's new 2015 attainment year. The Committee was briefed on the draft analysis for the 2015 forecast year air quality conformity analysis of the 2012 CLRP and FY2013-2018 TIP which was released for public comment on November 15. The TPB will be asked to approve the air quality conformity assessment at its December 19 meeting.

#### • TPB agenda Item 10

The 2012 CLRP was adopted by the TPB on July 18, 2012. The Committee was briefed on the draft 2012 CLRP brochure which describes what is in the plan and how the plan performs.

## TPB agenda Item11

MAP- 21 established the Transportation Alternatives Program to fund small projects considered "alternatives" to traditional highway construction. It combines several formerly stand-alone programs, including Transportation Enhancements, Safe Routes to School, and Recreational Trails. The Committee was briefed on the new program and the potential role of the TPB in the selection of projects under the program.

## • TPB agenda Item 12

On October 10, 2012, FTA issued interim guidance on MAP-21 which states that the MPO should initiate discussions on the designated recipient for the new Section 5310 program. The Committee was briefed on how the new program changed the three former FTA programs: Job Access and Reverse Commute, New Freedom, and Elderly and Disabled; and on potential Designated Recipient(s) for this program in the Washington DC-VA-MD Urbanized Area.

Three items were presented for information and discussion:

- MAP-21 calls for MPOs and DOTs to establish and use a performance-based approach to transportation decision making to support seven national goals. It calls for USDOT to establish performance measures related to seven national goals for planning processes, and for DOTs, transit agencies, and MPOs to establish performance targets using these measures. The Committee was briefed on the performance-based approach using performance measures and targets and on the status of USDOT activities to establish measures.
- WMATA staff briefed the Committee on a new strategic plan initiative called "Momentum: The Next Generation of Metro," and ongoing public outreach activities. The WMATA general manager is scheduled to brief the TPB on this initiative at its December 19 meeting.
- The Committee was updated on the final Congestion Management Process (CMP) Technical Report which serves as a detailed technical supporting document to the CMP component of the CLRP.

# TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES <u>DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA</u> ATTENDANCE - November 2, 2012

#### DDOT Mark Rawlings Anthony Foster FHWA-DC DCOP \_\_\_\_\_ FHWA-VA MARYLAND FTA NCPC Charles County NPS \_\_\_\_\_ Frederick Co. Ron Burns **MWAQC** City of Frederick \_\_\_\_\_ **COG Staff** Gaithersburg -----Montgomery Co. \_\_\_\_\_ Prince George's Co. ------Ron Kirby, DTP Gerald Miller, DTP Rockville \_\_\_\_\_ M-NCPPC Mark Pfoutz, DTP Montgomery Co. Gary Erenrich Prince George's Co. Abul Hassan **MDOT** Lyn Erickson \_\_\_\_\_

MTA Takoma Park

## **VIRGINIA**

Alexandria	Pierre Holloman
Arlington Co.	Dan Malouff
City of Fairfax	Alexis Verzosa
Fairfax Co.	Mike Lake
Falls Church	
Loudoun Co.	Robert Brown
Manassas	
Prince William Co.	Monica Backmon
NVTC	Claire Gron
PRTC	Nick Alexandrow
VRE	Christine Hoeffner
VDOT	Kanathur Srikanth
VDRPT	Amy Inman
	Tim Roseboon
NVPDC	
VDOA	
WMATA	

\_\_\_\_\_

-----

## WMATA Mark Kellogg Tom Harrington

**FEDERAL/OTHER** 

\_\_\_\_\_ Melissa Barlow \_\_\_\_\_ \_\_\_\_\_ \_\_\_\_\_ Nicholas Ramfos, DTP Robert Griff ths, DTP Elena Constantine, DTP Jane Posey, DTP Andrew Austin, DTP Daivamani Sivasailam, DTP Rich Roisman, DTP Dan Sonenklar, DTP John Swanson, DTP Wendy Klancher, DTP Andrew Meese, DTP Sarah Crawford, DTP Ben Hampton, DTP Jonathan Rogers, DTP Ron Milone, DTP Dusan Vuksan, DTP Eric Randall. DTP Jinchul Park, DTP Paul DesJardin, DCPS Wenjing Pu, DTP Joan Rohlfs, DEP Sunil Kumar, DEP

## **Other Attendees**

Randy Carroll, MDE Moji Jimeh, WMATA Bill Orleans, HACK