METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS 777 NORTH CAPITOL STREET, NE WASHINGTON, DC 20002

RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE COG 2017 LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

WHEREAS, the COG Board of Directors annually reviews and adopts a policy platform which outlines the region's federal and state policy priorities; and

WHEREAS, these priority statements are drafted by staff and vetted through COG's various policy and technical committees; and

WHEREAS, in 2009, the COG Board created an ad hoc Legislative Committee to provide an additional layer of oversight and review prior to board action; and

WHEREAS, to encourage greater alignment with COG's policy committees and boards the Legislative Committee will be composed of representatives from each policy committee and who currently serve on the board; and

WHEREAS, it is the responsibility of the COG Board Chairman to recommend members to serve on the COG 2017 Legislative Committee.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS THAT:

Upon recommendation of the Board Chair, the Board of Directors hereby approves the following persons to serve on the COG 2017 Legislative Committee:

Matt Letourneau, Loudoun County (Chair) – Board of Directors Vice Chair Bridget Newton, City of Rockville – Transportation Planning Board Brianne Nadeau, District of Columbia – Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee Penny Gross, Fairfax County – Climate, Energy and Environment Policy Committee Brenda Donald, District of Columbia – Human Services and Public Safety Committee Craig Rice, Montgomery County – Chesapeake Bay and Water Resources Committee Emmett Jordan, City of Greenbelt – Region Forward Coalition Kate Stewart, City of Takoma Park – Association Member (Maryland Municipal League) Phil Mendelson, District of Columbia – Past Board Chair

I HEREBY CERTIFY THAT the foregoing resolution was adopted by the COG Board of Directors on September 14, 2016.

Laura Ambrosio COG Communications Specialist