February 18, 2011

## **MEMORANDUM**

TO: Members, Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee (MWAQC)

FROM: Joan Rohlfs, Environmental Resources Program Director

SUBJECT: Appointments to Air and Climate Public Advisory Committee

The Air Quality Public Advisory Committee (AQPAC) was established in 1995 to give public input into MWAQC's air quality planning process. In 2008 the bylaws were amended to expand the committee's mission to include advising the Climate, Energy, and Environment Policy Committee on climate change and energy issues. Last year the name was changed to the Air and Climate Public Advisory Committee (ACPAC) to reflect its broader scope. The ACPAC bylaws call for a minimum of 18 members to represent "key elements of the community," and they should be balanced geographically. The members serve 1-3 years terms, which are staggered. Members are eligible for reappointment. Individuals can apply, or can be nominated by others or by ACPAC itself. MWAQC may appoint a member to more than two terms.

According to the bylaws, MWAQC should appoint members to ACPAC in January, and then ACPAC with its new members elects officers at the February meeting. However, since MWAQC did not meet in January, the MWAQC Executive Committee, which is authorized to conduct business on behalf of MWAQC in such situations, reviewed the recommended candidates nominated for appointment to ACPAC.

This year was unusual in that twenty people applied for membership on ACPAC and there were only 9 vacancies. ACPAC created a Selection Committee and invited candidates to a meeting in January. After the meeting, the Selection Committee reviewed the candidates' background, their interest in serving on the committee, knowledge of air quality, climate change, or energy efficiency, their geographic representation, and their commitment to participating on the committee as demonstrated by attendance at the January ACPAC meeting. The Selection Committee met to select members to recommend to MWAQC for appointment. New members and re-appointed members will draw lots for their term of membership (1-, 2- or 3-years) at the February meeting, February 28.

The Executive Committee made the following appointments:

Maryland appointments: (New) Raphael Isaac,, David McCabe, and Brian McFarland;

Re-appointed: Bill Butler, Deron Lovaas

District appointments: (New)Erica Hall, Andrew Kambour, Alexander Ryan-Bond.

Re-appointed: Sally Kane,

Virginia appointments: (New) Sarah Bunn, Daniel Lee, Jenny Parikh, Glenna Tinney

A document, "ACPAC Applicant Summaries," containing the background of the new members is posted on the website for today's meeting.

## Air and Climate Public Advisory Committee (ACPAC) Member Roster 2011

\*New Member, \*\* Reappointed

Last Name	First Name	City	State	Term <sup>1</sup>
Butler **	Bill	Landover	MD	2011
Isaac*	Raphael	Silver Spring	MD	New
Lovaas**	Deron	College Park	MD	2011
McCabe*	David	Takoma Park	MD	New
McFarland*	Brian	Silver Spring	MD	New
Peterson	Jennifer	Silver Spring	MD	2013
Hall*	Erica	Washington	DC	New
Kambour*	Andrew	Washington	DC	New
Kane**	Sally	Washington	DC	2011
Murphy	Linda	Washington	DC	2012
Petti	Caroline	Washington	DC	2012
Ryan-Bond*	Alexander	Washington	DC	New
Bunn*	Sarah	Fairfax	VA	New
Fourier	Beverly	Arlington	VA	2013
Lee*	Daniel	Alexandria	VA	New
Parikh*	Jenny	McLean	VA	New
Tinney*	Glenna	Alexandria	VA	New
Zaragoza	Larry	Alexandria	VA	2013

<sup>1.</sup> Term ending in 2011 ends 2/2011. New terms will be drawn in February 2011 at ACPAC meeting.