

2008 REGIONAL ELECTION RESULTS

COG wishes to congratulate its members who won re-election last week, and it welcomes the newly elected officials that will be joining our membership. COG would also like to acknowledge two departing members for their special contributions to the region and this organization. Both **Carol Schwartz** and **Tom Davis** will be missed and COG wishes them well on future endeavors.

District of Columbia Councilmember At-Large Carol Schwartz was defeated in her reelection bid last week. During her time on the Council, she has been one of COG's most active and loyal members. Schwartz's participation at COG spans three decades. She served as COG Chair in 2001, COG President in 2006, and was a leader in emergency planning after 9/11 as well as regional affordable housing initiatives. Schwartz also led COG's 50th anniversary celebration program last year.

U.S. Representative Tom Davis of Virginia is retiring after serving for 14 years in Congress. Davis previously served on the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors. Throughout his career as a local and federal elected official, Davis was a leader on regional issues such as securing funding for the Metrorail system. In 1993, Davis served as COG President. Last week, longtime COG Board Member **Gerry Connolly** of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors was elected to Davis' open seat in Congress.

Finally, COG recognizes the service of the senior member of the region's Congressional delegation, U.S. Senator **John Warner** of Virginia, who is retiring after serving the Commonwealth for thirty years. Former Governor **Mark Warner** was elected to Warner's open seat.

Newly Elected/Re-elected Officials

LOCAL

District of Columbia (Council)

Yvette Alexander Marion Barry Kwame Brown *Michael Brown (replaces Carol Schwartz) Muriel Bowser Jack Evans

Arlington (County Board) Barbara Favola

Manassas Park (Mayor) Frank Jones

Manassas Park (Council)

*Peter Farrell (replaces Treuting) Keith Miller Suhas Naddoni (special election) Bryan Polk

FEDERAL

District of Columbia (U.S. House) Eleanor Holmes Norton

Maryland (U.S. House)

Roscoe Bartlett Donna Edwards Steny Hoyer Chris Van Hollen

Virginia (U.S. House)

*Gerry Connolly (open seat) Jim Moran Robert Wittman Frank Wolf

Virginia (U.S. Senate)

Mark Warner (open seat)