

METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON AIR QUALITY COMMITTEE (MWAQC)

December 19, 2018 10 A.M. – 12 P.M. Kirby Training Center

Chairman: Hans Riemer, Montgomery County

DRAFT MEETING SUMMARY

MWAQC MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES (*VIA PHONE)

Sharon Bulova, Fairfax County*
Robert Day, City of College Park* (Vice Chair)
Michael DeMarco, City of Fairfax*
Erik Gutshall, Arlington County
Peter Kovar, City of Takoma Park
lan Lovejoy, City of Manassas*
Leta Mach, City of Greenbelt
Hans Riemer, Montgomery County (Chair)
Del Pepper, City of Alexandria (Vice Chair)*
Kathy Smith, Fairfax County
Linda Smyth, Fairfax County
Dave Snyder, City of Falls Church
Deni Taveras, Prince George's County
Brandon Todd, District of Columbia (Vice Chair)

Kambiz Agazi, Fairfax County*
Cecily Beall, District of Columbia Department of Energy and Environment
Paolo Belita, Prince William County
Alex Brun, Maryland Department of the Environment*
Patty Bubar, Montgomery County*
Tina Casey, District of Columbia Department of Transportation
Joshua Fleitman, District of Columbia
Gretchen Goldman, ACPAC
Jason Groth, Charles County*
Rene'e Hamilton, Virginia Department of Transportation
Doris McLeod, Virginia Department of Environmental Quality*
Jim Ponticello, Virginia Department of Transportation
Kari Snyder, Maryland Department of Transportation
Ram Tangirala, District of Columbia Department of Energy and Environment

OTHERS (*VIA PHONE)

Joseph Jakuta, District of Columbia Department of Energy and Environment Matt Krupp, WMATA

Reasonable accommodations are provided upon request, including alternative formats of meeting materials. Visit www.mwcog.org/accommodations or call (202) 962-3300 or (202) 962-3213 (TDD).

Jean Synodinos, Synodinos Consulting Malcolm Watson, Fairfax County Department of Transportation

COG STAFF (*VIA PHONE)

Amanda Campbell, COG Environmental Programs
Jen Desimone, COG Environmental Programs
Stuart Freudberg, COG Deputy Executive Director*
Jeff King, COG Environmental Programs
Sunil Kumar, COG Environmental Programs
Erin Morrow, COG Department of Transportation Planning
Jane Posey, COG Department of Transportation Planning
Kanti Srikanth, Director, COG Department of Transportation Planning
Steve Walz, Director, COG Environmental Programs

1. PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD, APPROVE MINUTES, CHAIR'S REMARKS

Hans Riemer, MWAQC Chair

There were no public comments. The September meeting summary and the October conference call summary were approved as written. Chair Riemer stated that he appreciated serving as MWAQC chair for the past two years and that he looked forward to the slate of officers coming on board this year.

2. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

Hans Riemer, MWAQC Chair, All MWAQC Members

The 2019 slate of officers, below, was presented to the committee and approved unanimously:

Chair: Hon. David F. Snyder, Councilmember, City of Falls Church Vice Chair: Hon. Brandon Todd, Councilmember, District of Columbia Hon. Robert Day, Councilmember, City of College Park Vice Chair: Hon. Michael DeMarco, Councilmember, City of Fairfax

3. MWAQC STRATEGIC ASSESSMENT

Jean Synodinos, Synodinos Consulting

As part of the FY 2019 Work Plan, a preliminary strategic assessment survey was conducted with members and alternates of MWAQC and its subcommittees. Jean Synodinos, Synodinos Consulting, presented the survey results and facilitated a discussion to reach consensus on next steps regarding enhanced operations and relevant priorities for 2019 and beyond.

The facilitated discussion included the following:

A. Survey Purpose and Overview

- B. MWAQC Operations
- C. MWAQC Priorities
- D. Next Steps

The survey findings, discussion, and recommendations are summarized in a report which will be posted on the MWAQC February 2019 meeting website, below.

3. ADJOURN

Meeting Documents: https://www.mwcog.org/events/2019/2/27/metropolitan-washington-air-quality-committee/