Resolution R49-10 ADOPTED September 8, 2010

METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS 777 North Capitol Street, N.E. Washington, DC 20002-4290

RESOLUTION MAKING APPOINTMENTS TO THE IRE ADVISORY BOARD

WHEREAS, the Institute for Regional Excellence (IRE) was created in 2001 by the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments, in partnership with George Washington University, to provide a regional executive development program for local governments; and

WHEREAS, the goal of the year long program is to develop leadership, enhance management skills, and increase exposure to innovation in local government, and develop an understanding of regional issues and approaches; and

WHEREAS, IRE is fully accredited by the National Certified Public Managers Consortium; and

WHEREAS, an Advisory Board was established to provide program oversight, IRE recruitment and program promotion; and

WHEREAS, the Advisory Board is comprised of a Chair, two vice chairs, representatives from GWU and past IRE class presidents; and

WHEREAS, a nominating committee was convened and made recommendations for 2010-2011 Advisory Board appointments.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLOVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS THAT:

The Board of Directors hereby approves the following 2010-2011 Officers for the IRE Advisory Board. Chair: Bruce Williams, City of Takoma Park; Vice Chair: J. Davis, Greenbelt; and Vice Chair: Ron Carlee, ICMA. Other members of the IRE Advisory Board shall include: Natalie Houghtby-Haddon, George Washington University; James Robinson, George Washington University; and previous IRE Class Presidents including: Ingrid Parris-Hicklin, Fairfax County; Luther Reynolds, Montgomery County; and Pam Doran, City of Falls Church.

COPY TESTE:

Nicole Hange, Board Clerk