#### **TPB Technical Committee Meeting Highlights**

**February 2, 2007** 

The Technical Committee met on Friday, February 2 at COG. Four items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda on February 21.

### TPB agenda Item 8

Staff briefed the Committee on the development of mobile source budgets for the 8-hour State Implementation Plan (SIP), and on a letter from MWAQC asking that the TPB approve the establishment of new 2010 mobile emissions budgets to assist in meeting the contingency requirements associated with the 8-hour ozone SIP. Staff also presented an initial review of the transportation measures for the SIP which were submitted by COG member governments to reduce air pollution, in response to a November 8, 2006 COG Board resolution. The Committee recommended that TPB respond to MWAQC with a letter that approves new 2010 mobile emissions budgets to assist with the contingency requirements, and provides comments on the transportation measures for the SIP proposed by COG member governments.

## TPB agenda Item 11

The Committee was briefed by the implementing agencies on the status of major projects for the 2007 CLRP expected to be submitted by February 23 for the air quality conformity assessment. It was reported that funding uncertainties may delay the submission of the transportation projects associated with the Base Realignment and Closure Commission (BRAC) action at Fort Belvoir in Northern Virginia.

#### TPB agenda Item 12

The Committee was briefed on the draft UPWP document and preliminary budget for FY 2008 (July 1,2007 through June 30,2008). A draft of the FY 2008 UPWP will be presented to the Board for review at its February 21 meeting, and the final version will be presented for the Board's approval at its March 21 meeting.

#### TPB agenda Item 13

The Committee was briefed on the draft Commuter Connections Work Program (CCWP) for FY 2008 (July 1,2007 through June 30,2008). A draft of the FY 2008 CCWP will be presented to the Board for review at its February 21 meeting, and the final version will be presented for the Board's approval at its March 21 meeting.

Six items were presented for information and discussion:

- Staff demonstrated for the Committee an initial version of a visualization of the projects in the 2006 CLRP. This version is user-friendly and utilizes Google Earth on the web. The visualization format, project descriptions, and land use information to be depicted will be refined by staff and reviewed by the Committee over the next few months, and then presented to the TPB.
- Staff briefed the Committee on the activities and schedule to develop a

Congestion Management Process (CMP) for the 2007 CLRP, as required under SAFETEA-LU.

- The Committee was briefed on a draft discussion for inclusion in the 2007 CLRP of potential environmental mitigation activities that will be developed in consultation with federal and state wildlife, land management and regulatory agencies, as required by SAFETEA-LU.
- The Committee was briefed on the draft results of the Spring 2006 Central Employment Area Cordon Count.
- Staff reported on the recent activities of the Travel Forecasting Subcommittee, including a presentation on the Version 2.2 travel forecasting model currently under review.
- Maryland State Highway Administration (SHA) staff briefed the Committee on the organization of a national conference on access management to be held in Baltimore in July 2008.

# TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE - February 2, 2007

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA		FEDERAL/OTHER	
DDOT	Mark Rawlings	FHWA-DC	
		FHWA-VA	
<b>MARYLAND</b>			
		FTA	Deborah Burns
Charles County			
Frederick Co.	Denis Superczynski	NCPC	
Gaithersburg			
Montgomery Co.		NPS	
Prince George's Co.			
Rockville	Katherine Kelly	MWAQC	
M-NCPPC			
Montgomery Co.		COG Staff and Others	
Prince George's Co.	Faramarz Mokhtari		
	Harold Foster	Ronald Kirby, DTP	
MDOT	Ian Beam	Gerald Miller, DTP	
	Shiva Shrestha	Michael Clifford, DTF	)
		Mark Pfoutz, DTP	
<u>VIRGINIA</u>		Jane Posey, DTP	
		Jim Hogan, DTP	
Alexandria	Maria White	William Bacon, DTP	
Arlington Co.	Tamera Ashby	Bob Griffiths, DTP	
City of Fairfax	Alex Verzosa	Nicholas Ramfos, DTP	
Fairfax Co.	Mike Lake	Andrew Austin, DTP	
Falls Church		Andrew Meese, DTP	
Loudoun Co.	Art Smith	Daivamani Sivasailam, DTP	
Manassas		Darren Smith, DTP	
Prince William Co.	Rick Canizales	Paul DesJardin, HSPPS	
NVTC		Jeff King, DEP	
PRTC	Anthony Foster	Wendy Klancher, DTP	
VRE		Robert Snead, DTP	
VDOT	Kanathur Srikanth	Dusan Vuksan, DTP	
VDRPT	Christopher Arabia	Mark Moran, DTP	
NVPDC		Michael Eichler, DTP	
VDOA		Jinchul Park, DTP	
		G. Toni Giardini, DTP	
<u>WMATA</u>		Leonard Wolfenstein,	Fairfax County DOT

WMATA

Tom Harrington