TPB Technical Committee Meeting Highlights

November 3, 2006

The Technical Committee met on Friday, November 3 at COG. Four items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda on October.

TPB agenda Item 9

The Committee was briefed on proposed steps to implement the new Transportation/Land Use Connection (TLC) Pilot Program. The briefing covered the web-based clearinghouse to document local and state experiences with land use and transportation coordination and the initial content for an announcement to jurisdictions on the availability of short-term technical assistance through consultants.

TPB agenda Item 10

Staff updated the Committee on the status of TPB and Access For All Advisory Committee recommendations to improve MetroAccess service and on the first meeting of the TPB Human Service Transportation Coordination Task Force.

TPB agenda Item 12

The Committee was briefed on results of the 2006 Streetsmart campaign and on the committed funding and activities for the fifth such campaign, which is being planned for April 2007. Staff presented a proposed strategy for obtaining some private sponsorship for the 2007 campaign and discussed desirable enhancements for the 2008 campaign.

TPB agenda Item 13

Staff reviewed the draft call for projects document and schedule for the air quality conformity assessment for the 2007 CLRP and FY 2008-2013 TIP. The TPB will be asked to approve the final document at the December 20 meeting.

Five items were presented for information and discussion:

- COG Environmental Program staff updated the Committee regarding on-going MWAQC activities for the 8-hour Ozone and PM 2.5 State Implementation Plan (SIP). Staff reported that mobile budget emission reductions in 2010 and 2011 are being considered as a potential contingency measure for the SIP. The Committee raised questions about the potential impacts on the TPB air quality conformity process and whether such a measure met EPA regulations.
- At the July TPB meeting, a suggestion was made to establish a bus subcommittee of the Technical Committee. Staff briefed the Committee on initial proposals for the mission, activities, and membership of a new subcommittee.
- Staff updated the Committee on activities to date to develop potential TPB responses to the Fredericksburg Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (FAMPO) resolutions which present its policies with respect to the allocation and sharing of FTA formula funds for the Washington urbanized area. Staff reported that, as requested by the Northern Virginia Transportation Authority (NVTA), a

- meeting will be held in November with the region's designated recipients of FTA formula funds to review the FAMPO policies.
- The Committee was briefed on initial results of an analysis of a regional system of variably-priced lanes (VPLs) developed for the Regional Mobility and Accessibility Scenario Study.
- A staff briefing regarding the presentations on visualization and practices for regional planning at the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Fifth International Visualization in Transportation Symposium was deferred until the next meeting.

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE - November 3, 2006

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA		FEDERAL/OTHER	
DDOT	Rick Rybeck Mark Rawlings	FHWA-DC FHWA-VA	Takumi Yamamoto
MARYLAND		FTA	Deborah Burns
Charles County		NCPC	
Frederick Co. Gaithersburg	Denis Superczynski	NPS	
Montgomery Co.	David Moss		
Prince George's Co. Rockville	Vic Weissberg Katherine Kelly	MWAQC	Deirdre Elvis-Peterson
M-NCPPC	radio me reny	COG Staff and Others	
Montgomery Co.	Eric Graye	D 14 W. d DTD	
Prince George's Co. MDOT	Faramarz Mokhtari Ian Beam	Ronald Kirby, DTP Gerald Miller, DTP	
MDOI	Shiva Shrestha	Michael Clifford, DTF)
	Amber Rhodes	Mark Pfoutz, DTP	
	Gail Moran	Jane Posey, DTP	
		Jim Hogan, DTP	
<u>VIRGINIA</u>		Michael Farrell, DTP	
		Bob Griffiths, DTP	
Alexandria	Maria White	Nicholas Ramfos, DTP	
Arlington Co.	Tamera Ashby	Andrew Austin, DTP	
City of Fairfax	Alexis Verzosa	Mark Moran, DTP	
Fairfax Co. Falls Church	Tom Biesiadny	Don McAuslan, DTP Andrew Meese, DTP	
Loudoun Co.	Art Smith	Daivamani Sivasailam, DTP	
Manassas		Beth Newman, DTP	
Prince William Co.	Rick Canizales	Jinchul Park, DTP	
NVTC		Michael Eichler, DTP	
PRTC	Anthony Foster	darren Smith, DTP	
VRE	Christine Hoeffner	Anant Choudhary, DTP	
VDOT	Kanathur Srikanth	Erin Morrow, DTP	
VDRPT	Sharmilla Samarasinghe	William Bacon, DTP	
NVPDC		Hailemariam Abai, DTP	
VDOA		G. Toni Giardini, DTP	29
XX/N // A / ID A		Paul DesJardin, HSPF	PS
<u>WMATA</u>		Jeff King, DEP Joan Rohlfs, DEP	
WMATA		Randy Carroll, MDE	
· · - ·		Jaak Pedak, Fairfax C	County DOT
		Jim Chandler, Town o	•
			-