METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS 777 North Capitol Street, NE Washington, DC 20002

RESOLUTION TO APPROVE THE CHAIRMAN'S RECOMMENDATION FOR APPOINTMENT OF NEW MEMBERS TO THE COG 2013 LEGISLATIVE TASK FORCE

WHEREAS, the COG Board of Directors annually reviews and adopts a legislative platform which outlines the region's state legislative priorities; and

WHEREAS, these priority statements are drafted by staff in coordination with the region's legislative directors and is vetted through COG's various policy and technical committees; and

WHEREAS, in 2009, the COG Board created an ad hoc Legislative Task Force to provide an additional layer of oversight and review prior to Board action; and

WHEREAS, in order be truly comprehensive, staff has recommended the expansion of the Legislative Task Force to include representatives of COG's policy Boards and committees for a total of 9 members, balanced geographically among the District of Columbia, the State of Maryland, and the Commonwealth of Virginia; and

WHEREAS, it is the responsibility of the COG Board Chairman to recommend members to serve on the COG 2013 Legislative Task Force;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS THAT:

Upon recommendation of the Board Chair, the Board of Directors hereby approves the following persons to serve on the COG 2013 Legislative Task Force:

Janet Clarke, Loudoun County, Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee Jay Fisette, Arlington County, Climate Energy and Environment Penny Gross, Fairfax County, Chesapeake Bay

George Leventhal, Montgomery County, Human Services and Public Safety

Phil Mendelson, District of Columbia, COG Board of Directors

Eric Olson, Prince George's County, Region Forward Coalition

Frank Principi, Prince William County, COG Board of Directors

Todd Turner, City of Bowie, Transportation Planning Board

Karen Young, City of Frederick, COG Board of Directors

The foregoing resolution was unanimously approved and adopted by the COG Board of Directors at its regular meeting held on July 11, 2012.

Barbara J. Chapman Executive Board Secretary