Air Quality Public Advisory Committee

Suite 300, 777 North Capitol Street, N.E. Washington, DC 20002-4239 (202) 962-3360 Fax: (202) 962-3203

http://www mwcog.org/environment/committee/

The Air Quality Public Advisory Committee (AQPAC) is an advisory body to the Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee (MWAQC).

DRAFT Meeting Minutes Monday, January 26, 2009 Room 1 5:30 P.M.-7:30 P.M.

Present:

Bahri Aliriza, Bill Butler, Ann Brown, Tim Duggan, Brian Holmes, Sally Kane, Deron Lovaas, Lauren Milone, Linda Murphy, Peter Owen, Caroline Petti, Richard Reiss, Matt Roberts, Josh Silverman, Eric Tomasi, Julie Crenshaw Van Fleet, Larry Zaragoza, Diana Zinka.

Staff: Jeff King, Sunil Kumar, Joan Rohlfs, Tanisha Williams

1.Call to Order, Adoption of Agenda

Larry Zaragoza, Vice Chair opened the meeting at 5:35 pm. He said the meeting is part "Open House" to meet the people who have applied for membership on AQPAC. Since there are so many new people present, he asked that everyone introduce themselves. He said the chair would be arriving late. Introductions were made.

2. Overview of AQPAC

Joan Rohlfs gave an overview of the Air Quality Public Advisory Committee, discussed how the committee fits into the organization at COG and MWAQC. She discussed the mission of AQPAC and the process for appointing new members. MWAQC will appoint new members at its meeting on January 28. In February the new AQPAC will meet for the first time, determine their membership terms by lot, and elect a chair and vice chair. The Nominating Committee will nominate officers and announce them ten days before the election. There was a question and answer period. Julie Crenshaw Van Fleet and Larry Zaragoza also shared their view of AQPAC and how it has worked over the years.

3.Staff Report of TAC, MWAQC, CCSC

Staff reported that MWAQC met on December 10 at the National Press Club. MWAQC approved the revised AQPAC bylaws. According to the bylaws, the Nominations Committee should announce its slate in January, thirty days before the February meeting. Member terms will be staggered randomly, by lot, according to the new bylaws.

The main issue at the TAC meeting on January 12 was EPA's proposed designation of Montgomery County and Prince George's County as nonattainment for the 2006 daily PM2.5 standard, and inclusion of these two counties with the Baltimore nonattainment

area. EPA staff members attended the TAC meeting and responded to questions that had been submitted earlier by TAC.

4. Draft Letter Re PM_{2.5} Designation in MD

Staff explained that the former MWAQC Chair Dave Snyder suggested that the three policy boards of the Council of Governments send a joint comment letter to EPA on the proposed designation. The draft comment letter to the EPA Region 3 Acting Administrator is available tonight for comment. In addition, Julie Crenshaw Van Fleet drafted a proposed comment letter from AQPAC.

Staff outlined the arguments in the comment letter. There was some discussion about whether or not the letter was necessary since Rahm Emmanuel, the President's Chief of Staff, has issued an order staying all pending federal regulations. After some discussion, it was agreed that the comment letter should go forward, given the timeframe to respond to EPA Region III's proposed designation.

It was agreed that Deron Lovaas, Chair, will communicate the committee's comments to MWAQC at the meeting this week.

5. Minutes Approved

Chair Deron Lovaas called for approval of the minutes. The minutes of the December 2008 meeting were approved, pending some comments from Larry Zaragoza.

5. Next Meeting and Adjourn

There being no further business, the Chair adjourned the meeting at 7:35 pm. The next meeting will be on February 23, 2009.