TPB Technical Committee November 4 Meeting Highlights

November 10, 2016

The Technical Committee met on November 4 in the Ronald F. Kirby Training Center at COG. The following items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB's November agenda:

• TPB agenda items 7-10

The committee was briefed on the Draft 2016 Amendment to the Constrained Long-Range Transportation Plan (CLRP) and the FY 2017-2022 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), which were released for public comment on October 13. Staff briefed the committee on comments received to date and described the process for approving the CLRP and TIP. Staff reminded the committee that the comment period would end on Saturday, November 12 and the "Responses to Comments" document would need to be developed in a just a couple days prior to the TPB meeting on November 16.

• TPB agenda item 11

Staff explained that the Joint Planning Regulations issued by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) require that "the state and MPO shall certify at least every four years that the metropolitan transportation planning process is addressing the major issues facing the area and is being carried out in accordance with all applicable requirements..." The committee was briefed on a draft Statement of Certification, which the TPB will be asked to endorse on November 16.

• TPB agenda items 12

Staff briefed the committee on the interim report of a technical panel that is conducting an assessment of Metrorail safety, reliability, and state of good repair needs and revenue. Staff also briefed the committee on activities to develop the Metro Safety Commission. Legislation to establish the commission needs to be adopted in all three jurisdictions.

• TPB agenda items 13

The committee received an update on an outline for the Phase I Report of the Long-Range Plan Task Force. This report will document analysis of No-Build and All-Build Scenarios.

The following item were presented for information and discussion:

- The committee was briefed on federal transportation rulemaking and the performance-based planning and programming (PBPP) requirements, as well as recent activities in support of implementation. The committee was briefed on a draft Statement of Certification, which the TPB will be asked to endorse. Regarding recent federal proposals to potentially require consolidated regional planning for multiple regions, staff briefed the committee on the startup and ongoing operating cost of conducting planning for such a mega-region.
- Staff presented an update on the proposed climate action plan of COG's Climate, Energy, and Environmental Policy Committee (CEEPC). The committee also discussed the Multi-Sector Working Group's GHG reduction strategies.
- Staff described a TPB-sponsored conference on November 2 that focused on opportunities for improving traffic incident response. Members expressed strong interest in this event.
- Staff announced that applications were being taken for the Citizens Advisory Committee. The deadline is December 9.

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE – October 7, 2016

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

DDOT	Mark Rawlings
DCOP	Dan Emerine
MARYLAND	
Charles County	
Frederick County	
City of Frederick	
Gaithersburg	
Montgomery County	Gary Erenrich
Prince George's County	Anthony Foster
Rockville	
M-NCPPC	
Montgomery County	
Prince George's County	
MDOT	Meredith Hill
	Matt Baker
	Aviva Brown

Takoma Park

VIRGINIA

Alexandria	Pierre Holloman
Arlington County	Dan Malouff
City of Fairfax	
Fairfax County	Mike Lake
	Malcolm Watson
Falls Church	
Fauquier County	
Loudoun County	Robert Brown
Manassas	
NVTA	Sree Nampoothiri
NVTC	Patricia Happ
Prince William County	James Davenport
PRTC	
VRE	Sonali Soneji
VDOT	Norman Whitaker
	Regina Moore
VDRPT	Tim Roseboom
NVPDC	
VDOA	
<u>WMATA</u>	Allison Davis

FEDERAL/REGIONAL

FHWA-DC	
FHWA-VA	
FTA	
NCPC	
NPS	
MWAQC	
MWAA	

COG STAFF

Kanti Srikanth, DTP Lyn Erickson, DTP Ron Milone, DTP Andrew Meese, DTP Nicholas Ramfos, DTP Andrew Austin, DTP Bill Bacon, DTP Anant Choudhary, DTP Lamont Cobb, DTP Ben Hampton, DTP Bryan Hayes, DTP **Charlene Howard, DTP** Ken Joh, DTP Arianna Koudounas, DTP Mark Moran, DTP Jinchul Park, DTP Jane Posey, DTP Eric Randall, DTP Sergio Ritacco, DTP Rich Roisman, DTP Jon Schermann, DTP Daivamani Sivasailam, DTP John Swanson, DTP Dusan Vuksan, DTP Lori Zeller, DTP Abigail Zenner, DTP Paul DesJardin, DCPS Steve Walz, DEP Sunil Kumar, DEP

<u>OTHER</u>

Alex Brun, MDE Bill Orleans Dan Painter, VDOT