TPB Technical Committee Meeting Highlights

December 5, 2014

The Technical Committee met on December 5 at the Ronald F. Kirby Training Center at COG. Four items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda for December 17.

TPB agenda Item 8

At the November 19 meeting, the TPB was briefed on a proposed draft TPB resolution to affirm the 2008 COG greenhouse gas reduction goals as requested by MWAQC and CEEPC. The TPB was also briefed on COG actions to convene a multi-disciplinary professional working group to develop a multi-sector action plan to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and criteria pollutants. The Committee was briefed on the proposed draft resolution and on the proposed COG actions to establish this working group. The TPB will be asked to approve this draft resolution and the support of the COG working group at its meeting on December 17.

TPB agenda Item 9

Since the FY 2015 UPWP was approved in March, the funding allocations provided by DDOT, MDOT and VDOT have been revised to reflect changes in new FY 2015 funding and adjustments in the unobligated FY 2013 funding. The Committee was briefed on an amendment to revise the budget and work elements to reflect the funding changes. The TPB will be asked to approve this amendment at its meeting on December 17.

TPB agenda Item 10

The Committee was updated on the draft 2014 Bicycle and Pedestrian Plan for the National Capital Region. The TPB will be briefed on the draft plan at its December 17 meeting and asked to approve the plan at its January 21 meeting.

TPB agenda Item 11

At its September meeting, the TPB approved reconstituting the Regional Bus Subcommittee as the Regional Public Transportation Subcommittee. In November the Committee was briefed on the proposed goals, mission, and membership of the reconstituted subcommittee. The Committee was updated on additional details for the new subcommittee, and recommended that the approved goals, mission statement, activities, membership and governance of new subcommittee be presented to the TPB at its December 17 meeting.

Three items were presented for information and discussion:

 At its November meeting, the TPB was briefed on a proposed process to develop of a list of transportation projects which could not be included in the CLRP because funding has not been identified. TPB staff will request each member jurisdiction and agency to provide its list of recognized priority transportation projects with cost estimates for inclusion in a regional list. The Committee was briefed on the schedule and project details required for the lists.

- The Transportation Emission Reduction Measures (TERMs) that are provided by the Commuter Connections program are evaluated on a three year cycle and the resulting congestion and emission impacts are used to make adjustments to the measures and to document benefits for both regional air quality and congestion management. The Committee was briefed on the results as well as trend data from the most recent FY 2014 evaluation cycle.
- The Committee was updated on the latest developments regarding US DOT regulations on performance measures under MAP-21, including the bridge and pavement condition provisions and the new schedule for the publication of the remaining performance measure rules and the final metropolitan planning regulations.

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE – December 5, 2014

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA		FEDERAL/REGIONAL	
DDOT	Mark Rawlings	ELIMA D.C	
DCOP	Dan Emerine	FHWA-DC	
Duoi	Buil Emerine	FHWA-VA	
MARYLAND		FTA	
THIN BIND		NCPC	
Charles County		NPS	
Frederick County	Ron Burns	MWAQC	
City of Frederick	Timothy Davis	MWAA	
Gaithersburg		GO G GT 4 DD	
Montgomery County	John Thomas	<u>COG STAFF</u>	
Prince George's County			
Rockville		Kanti, Srikanth, DTP	
M-NCPPC		Elena Constantine, DTP	
Montgomery County		Robert Griffiths, DTP	
Prince George's County	Faramarz Mokhtari	Gerald Miller, DTP	
MDOT	Lyn Erickson	Ron Milone, DTP	
	Matt Baker	Nicholas Ramfos, DTP	
Takoma Park		Andrew Austin, DTP	
		Jen Desimone, DEP	
VIRGINIA		Paul DesJardin, DCPS	
		Michael Farrell, DTP	
Alexandria	Pierre Holloman	Charlene Howard, DTP	
Arlington County	Dan Malouff	Jeff King, DEP	
City of Fairfax		Sunil Kumar, DEP	
Fairfax County	Malcolm Watson	Jessica Mirr, DTP	
		Jane Posey, DTP	
Falls Church		Eric Randall, DTP	
Fauquier County		Rich Roisman, DTP	
Loudoun County	Robert Brown	Daivamani Sivasailam, DTP	
Manassas		Dan Sonenklar, DTP	
NVTA		John Swanson, DTP	
NVTC	Claire Gron	Steve Walz, DEP	
Prince William County	James Davenport	Lynn Winchell Mendy	
PRTC			
VRE	Christine Hoeffner	<u>OTHER</u>	
VDOT	Norman Whitaker		
	Dan Painter	Bill Orleans	
	Jim Ponticello	Bill Sadler, Safe Routes to	School National
VDRPT	Tim Roseboom	Partnership	
NVPDC		Nancy Smith, Northern Virginia	
VDOA		Transportation Alliance	
<u>WMATA</u>	Jonathan Parker		