ITEM 7- Information

January 28, 2009

Approval of Appointments to the TPB Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) for the Year 2009

Staff
Recommendation:Appoint the fifteen members (and alternates) and
chairman of the CAC.Issues:NoneBackground:The TPB Participation Plan calls for the
appointment of 15 members to the CAC
for each calendar year: six members
designated by the current CAC, and nine
members nominated by the TPB officers.
At the December 11 CAC meeting, six
members were designated by the 2008

CAC to the CAC for the year 2009. Six members (and alternates) nominated by the 2009 Vice Chairs will be presented. Chairman Jenkins will present the three members (and alternates) nominated by

the 2009 TPB Chair, as well as the

in 2009.

nomination for the chairman of the CAC

National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board

777 North Capitol Street, N.E., Suite 300, Washington, D.C. 20002-4290 (202) 962-3310 Fax: (202) 962-3202 TDD: (202) 962-3213

January 22, 2009

TO:	Transportation Planning Board
FROM:	Ronald F. Kirby, Director, Department of Transportation Planning
SUBJECT:	Appointment of Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) members for 2009

According to the TPB's Participation Plan, the TPB is scheduled to appoint the new members to the CAC at the TPB's January meeting so that the new committee can convene in February. The Plan also states that the chair of the TPB will appoint the chair of the CAC.

According to the Participation Plan, the Citizens Advisory Committee consists of 15 members. Six (6) of these members—two each from the District of Columbia, Virginia and Maryland are designated by the previous year's CAC. Subsequently, the TPB officers nominate nine (9) individuals— three each from the District of Columbia, Virginia and Maryland.

At the TPB meeting on January 28, 2009, the following individuals are anticipated to be nominated and appointed to the CAC. Most of these individuals completed application forms, which will be distributed separately.

District of Columbia

Patrick Coonan *(alternate)* Paul DeMaio Harold Foster (designated by the 2008 CAC) Bernard Hill *(alternate)* Larry Martin Gertrude Reeves Shirley Williams (designated by the 2008 CAC)

Maryland

Farrell Keough (Chair) William Klenke (designated by the 2008 CAC) Derrick Richardson John Lynn Shanton Emmet Tydings (designated by the 2008 CAC)

Virginia

Maureen Budetti Roland Gunn Jim Larsen Allen Muchnick (designated by the 2008 CAC) G. Gail Parker (designated by the 2008 CAC)