

TRANSPORTATION SAFETY SUBCOMMITTEE

Tuesday June 8, 2021 1:00 P.M. – 3:00 P.M. VIRTUAL MEETING

Chair: Vanessa Holt, Fairfax County Department of Transportation

Call-in and Web-conferencing Information:

Call-in number: 202-860-2110
Access code: 161 993 6194
Password: Safety2021
Click to join the meeting

AGENDA

1:00 P.M. 1. WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Vanessa Holt, Fairfax County Department of Transportation, Transportation Safety Subcommittee Chair

1:10 P.M. 2. SAFE SYSTEMS APPROACH

Jennifer Warren, Team Leader for Strategic Coordination, FHWA Office of Safety

Ms. Warren will brief the subcommittee on the Safe Systems approach to achieving roadway safety.

1:40 P.M. 3. HIGHLIGHTS OF INITIAL FINDINGS FROM PEDESTRIAN-BICYCLIST FATALITY REVIEW

Kartik Kaushik, PhD – Assistant Professor, and Kim Auman, MS – Epidemiologist, with the National Study Center for Trauma and EMS, University of Maryland School of Medicine

Mr. Kaushik and Ms. Auman will present the initial findings of the multidisciplinary review of fatal pedestrian and bicyclist crashes in Maryland.

2:10 P.M 4. REGIONAL ROADWAY SAFETY PROGRAM PROJECT SELECTION

Jon Schermann, TPB Systems Performance Analysis Manager

Mr. Schermann will brief the subcommittee on the projects selected to receive technical assistance and will be recommended for the TPB's approval under the initial round of the Regional Roadway Safety Program.

2:30 P.M. 5. ROUNDTABLE UPDATES

Jurisdictions and other participants to share safety-related items of interest with the subcommittee.

3:00 P.M. 6. ADJOURN

Reasonable accommodations are provided upon request, including alternative formats of meeting materials. Click here for information: www.mwcog.org/accommodations or call (202) 962-3300 or (202) 962-3213 (TDD)