MDOT Proposal to amend the Bylaws to change the membership requirements of the designated alternate members. TPB Meeting - January 18, 2017

- 1. The County Executive or his designated representative, if the form of government includes an elected County Executive, or;
- 2. One (1) additional elected member of the local governing body, if the form of government does not include an elected County Executive.
- c. Four (4) members from the Government of the District of Columbia, two (2) of whom shall be members of the Council, and two (2) from the executive branch. One (1) of the executive branch members shall be from the Department of Public Works.
- d. One (1) member from each of the Departments of Transportation of Maryland and Virginia. and one (1) member representing the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA);
- e. One (1) member each from the House and Senate of the Maryland and Virginia General Assemblies and one (1) additional member from the Council of the District of Columbia. Such members and their alternates shall be selected from the members of the General Assemblies representing portions of the Washington Metropolitan Area, and the Council of the District of Columbia, respectively. Alternates for these members shall also be members of the General Assemblies or the Council of the District of Columbia, respectively.
- f. One (1) member each from the National Capital Planning Commission, the Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority, the Federal Highway Administration, the Federal Transit Administration, the Federal Aviation Administration, and the National Park Service. Each member in this category shall be non-voting, but shall be entitled to offer and second motions and resolutions and otherwise enter into deliberations of the TPB.

Designated alternate representatives of the local government representatives need not be elected officials, but must be appointed by their local governing body, and if the designated alternate representative is not an elected official, they must be an employee of the participating jurisdiction's government. Designated alternate representatives of the Departments of Transportation and the District of Columbia Department of Public Works must be appointed by their respective Departments. Designated alternate representatives of the WMATA must be appointed by the Board of Directors.

Members shall serve until replaced by the organization they represent. Changes in jurisdictional membership (but not individual appointments) shall be endorsed by the Governor of the State from which local government membership is requested.

IV. TIME AND PLACE OF MEETING

- a. The TPB shall hold regular meetings in January, March, April, May, June, September and November. Special meetings may be called by the Chairperson at any time on ten (10) days notice in writing of the time, place, and general business to be transacted. The Chairperson shall call a special meeting of the TPB on the request of not less than one-third of the voting members of the TPB, or as required under Section VIIa(57).
- b. A member may be deemed "present" at a meeting through physical means or electronic communication means from a remote location with listening, speaking and voting capabilities, only as follows: The member shall give at least three (3) days' notice to the