TPB Technical Committee Meeting Highlights

May 2, 2008

The Technical Committee met on May 2 at COG. Two items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda on May 21.

• <u>TPB agenda Item 9</u>

The Committee received a status report on the conformity analysis of the 2008 CLRP and FY 2009-2014 TIP with NVTA funded projects. The Committee also received status reports on inputs for the two versions of the draft 2008 CLRP and FY 2009-2014 TIP (with and without NVTA funded projects), and on the agenda for the public meeting on the TIP to be held on May 15 hosted by the TPB Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC).

• TPB agenda Item 11

The Committee was updated the development of the "CLRP Aspirations" and "What Would it Take?" scenarios, and on the briefings on the scenario development process that were presented to the COG Climate Change Steering Committee and the Greater Washington 2050 Coalition in late April. The Committee also was briefed on a draft cost-effectiveness analysis of travel demand measures (TDMs) for reducing CO_2 emissions which could inform the "What Would it Take?" scenario that will examine a number of strategies to reduce CO_2 .

Two items were presented for information and discussion:

- A consultant briefed the Committee on a cost-benefit analysis framework which provides a comprehensive approach for assessing transit investments in the Washington region.
- Staff briefed the Committee on a draft policy report summarizing the changes in travel trends and commuting patterns in the Washington region.

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE - May 2, 2008

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

DDOT

MARYLAND

Charles County Frederick Co. City of Frederick Gaithersburg Montgomery Co. Prince George's Co. Rockville M-NCPPC Montgomery Co. _____ Prince George's Co. Faramarz Mokhtari **MDOT**

VIRGINIA

Alexandria Arlington Co. City of Fairfax Fairfax Co Falls Church Loudoun Co. Manassas Prince William Co. NVTC PRTC VRE VDOT VDRPT **NVPDC VDOA**

John Thomas **Tim Davis** _____ David Moss Vic Weissberg _____

Mark Rawlings

Lvn Erickson Shiva Shrestra Keith Bounds Patrick Fleming **Del Harvey**

Maria White **Ritch Viola** _____ Robert Owolabi Leonard Wolfenstein _____ _____ _____ Monica Backmon _____ Anthony Foster _____ Kanathur Srikanth Sharmila Samarasinghe _____ _____

FEDERAL/OTHER

FHWA-DC	
FHWA-VA	
FTA	
NCPC	
NPS	
MWAQC	
FEMA/DHS	

COG Staff

Ronald Kirby, DTP Gerald Miller, DTP Mike Clifford, DTP Daivamani Sivasailam, DTP Mark Pfoutz, DTP Andrew Austin, DTP Jim Hogan, DTP Bob Griffiths, DTP Andrew Meese, DTP William Bacon, DTP Michael Farrell, DTP Erin Morrow, DTP Nicholas Ramfos, DTP Monica Bansal, DTP Jane Posey, DTP Hailemariam Abai, DTP Sunil Kumar, DEP

Other Particpants

Harry Sanders, Purple Line Now Randy Carroll, MDE Chris Behr. HDR David Lewis, HDR Neil Pogorelsky

WMATA

WMATA

Clayton Ashby