#### Meeting Highlights: TPB Technical Committee June 2017

The Technical Committee met on July 7, 2017 in the Ronald F. Kirby Training Center at COG. The following items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda:

### • TPB agenda item 7

Traci McPhail, the Chair of the Car-Free Day Steering Committee, gave a presentation on Car Free Day 2017. She explained that Car-Free Day events are being organized in the region for September 22. These events will encourage the community and regional decision-makers to support car-free policies and initiatives.

#### • TPB agenda item 8

Kanti Srikanth, TPB Staff Director, briefed the committee on recent activities of the Long-Range Plan Task Force. He said the TPB at its July meeting will be asked to accept, for further analysis, a set of initiatives consisting of projects, programs, and policies. Further analyses to occur this summer and fall will help to determine if the initiatives make significantly better progress towards achieving the goals laid out in TPB and COG's governing documents. Next the task force will work on developing a process by which the TPB can later endorse a final selection from among those initiatives studied for future concerted TPB action with the goal of ultimately including them in future long-range plan updates. The Director briefed the committee on the summer schedule of the LRPTF.

The following items were presented for information and discussion:

- Tim Roseboom of the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation (DRPT) gave a presentation on DRPT's current and proposed project prioritization process. This was one in a series of presentations aimed at highlighting how the different funding agencies in the region prioritize projects for funding in the CLRP and TIP.
- Emily Stock of provided a project status update on the DC2RVA High-Speed Rail Project, which recently issued a Draft Environmental Impact Statement (DEIS). The DEIS is currently undergoing final Federal Railroad Administration (FRA) review and DRPT anticipates that the document will be released to the public in late summer of 2017. The release of the DEIS will initiate a 60-day public comment period that will include a set of public hearings throughout the project corridor.
- TPB staff provided an update on Visualize 2045. The update included a status report on public outreach activities, including the survey which is now underway, and the development of the Financial Plan.
- TPB staff provided an overview of the status of the short-range travel modelling improvements that are currently underway.
- TPB staff provided an overview on the federal Enhanced Mobility grant solicitation process, which is beginning in August. The Regional Public Transportation Subcommittee has been involved in this process.
- TPB staff briefed the committee on the purpose, content, and outcomes of the Vision Zero Professional Development Workshop, which took place on June 23. Jurisdictions that were highlighted in the presentation included Montgomery County, Alexandria and the District of Columbia.

# TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE – July 7, 2017

FEDERAL/REGIONAL

## DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

<b>DD0</b>			
DDOT	 D	FHWA-DC	
DCOP	Dan Emerine	FHWA-VA	
MARYLAND		FTA	
		NCPC	 T 1.TT ·
Charles County	Ben Yeckley	NPS	Laurel Hammig
Frederick County		MWAQC	
City of Frederick	Timothy Davis	MWAA	Mike Hewitt
Gaithersburg		<u>COG STAFF</u>	
Montgomery County			
Prince George's County	Anthony Foster	Kanti Srikanth, DTP	
Rockville		Lyn Erickson, DTP	
M-NCPPC		Ron Milone, DTP	
Montgomery County		Andrew Meese, DTP	
Prince George's County	·	Andrew Austin, DTP	
MDOT	Kari Snyder	Michael Farrell, DTP	
	Matt Baker	Ben Hampton, DTP	
Takoma Park		Ken Joh, DTP	
		Wendy Klancher, DTP	
<u>VIRGINIA</u>		Mark Moran, DTP	
		Eric Randall, DTP	
Alexandria	Pierre Holloman	Sergio Ritacco, DTP	
Arlington County	Dan Malouff	Rich Roisman, DTP	
City of Fairfax		Jon Schermann, DTP	
Fairfax County	Mike Lake	Daivamani Sivasailam, DT	'P
	Malcolm Watson	John Swanson, DTP	-
Falls Church		Dusan Vuksan, DTP	
Fauquier County		Feng Xie, DTP	
Loudoun County		Lori Zeller, DTP	
Manassas		Abigail Zenner, DTP	
NVTA		Steve Walz, DEP	
NVTC	Patricia Happ	Steve Waiz, DEI	
Prince William County	James Davenport	<u>OTHER</u>	
PRTC	Betsy Massie	Traci McPhail, NBTMD	
VRE	Christine Hoeffner	Alex Brun, MDE	
VDOT	Norman Whitaker	,	
	Regina Moore	Jalen Jennings, VDOT	
VDRPT	Tim Roseboom	Emily Stock, VDRPT	
	Todd Horsley	Clinton Edwards, VDRPT	
NVPDC		Faisal Hameed, Parsons (I	JC2RVA Team)
VDOA		Allison Hahn, NVTC	
		Nicholas Perry, MWAA	
<u>WMATA</u>	Allison Davis	Bill Orleans	