ITEM 7 - Action January 16, 2008

Approval of Appointments to the TPB Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) for the Year 2008

Staff

Recommendation: Appoint the fifteen members (and alternates)

and chairman of the CAC for 2008.

Issues: None

Background: The TPB Participation Plan calls for the

appointment of 15 members to the CAC for

each calendar year: six members designated by the current CAC, and nine members nominated by the TPB officers. At the December 13 CAC meeting, six members were designated by the

2007 CAC to the CAC for the year 2008. Chairman Mendelson will present the three members (and alternates) nominated by the 2008 TPB Chair, as well as the nomination for the chairman of the CAC in 2008. The six members (and alternates) nominated by the

2008 Vice Chairs also will be presented.

National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board

777 North Capitol Street, N.E., Suite 300, Washington, D.C. 20002-4290 (202) 962-3310 Fax: (202) 962-3202 TDD: (202) 962-3213

January 16, 2008

TO: Transportation Planning Board

FROM: Ronald F. Kirby, Director, Department of Transportation Planning SUBJECT: Appointment of Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) members for 2008

According to the TPB's Participation Plan, the TPB is scheduled to appoint the new members to the CAC at the TPB's January meeting so that the new committee can convene in February. The Plan also states that the chair of the TPB will appoint the chair of the CAC.

According to the Participation Plan, the Citizens Advisory Committee consists of 15 members. Six (6) of these members—two each from the District of Columbia, Virginia and Maryland—are designated by the previous year's CAC. Subsequently, the TPB officers nominate nine (9) individuals—three each from the District of Columbia, Virginia and Maryland.

At the TPB meeting on January 16, 2008, the following individuals are anticipated to be nominated and appointed to the CAC. Most of these individuals completed application forms, which will be distributed separately.

District of Columbia

Harold Foster (elected by the 2007 CAC) Grace Malakoff Robin Marlin Larry Martin (elected by the 2007 CAC) Shirley Williams Jeremy Siegel (alternate) Bernard Hill (alternate) Joseph Bowser (alternate)

Maryland

Farrell Keough Todd Reitzel (elected by the 2007 CAC) William Klenke John Lynn Shanton Emmet Tydings (elected by the 2007 CAC) Laurie Kelly (alternate)

Virginia

Jim Larsen
Dan Malouff (elected by the 2007 CAC)
Allen Muchnick (elected by the 2007 CAC)
Suresh Narasimhan
Daphne Sahlin
Glenda Gail Parker (alternate)