TPB Technical Committee January 2017 Meeting Highlights

The Technical Committee met on January 6, 2017 in the Ronald F. Kirby Training Center at COG. The following items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB's January agenda:

• TPB agenda item 8

Staff briefed the committee on Phase 1 of the proposed enhancements to the Title VI/Environmental Justice (EJ) analysis of the CLRP. In this phase, staff have identified geographic areas with high concentrations of low-income and/or minority populations. The TPB was briefed in December and in January, the board will be asked to adopt the map. Staff discussed the comments received to date, including comments regarding the originally proposed name of the map, "communities of concern," which will be changed. The committee generally agreed that the newly proposed name "Equity Emphasis Areas" would be more appropriate. Subsequent to the meeting, that new name was selected. At the meeting, staff also discussed Phase 2 in which the 2016 CLRP amendment will be analyzed for disproportionate impacts on low-income and minority populations.

• TPB agenda item 9

Staff explained that currently, there is no provision in the TPB Bylaws to allow for remote participation by conference call or webinar. Staff said that at the TPB meeting on December 21, notice was given that the board will take action in January 2017 to amend the bylaws to include an option for remote participation. The committee discussed how remote access would work.

• TPB agenda item 13

The committee was briefed on an outline and preliminary budget for the Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) for FY 2018 (July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018). A complete draft of the FY 2018 UPWP will be presented to the Technical Committee and to the TPB for review in February.

• TPB agenda item 11

Staff updated the committee on next steps for the Long-Range Plan Task Force. The board accepted the Phase 1 Report as final at its December meeting. The new TPB chairman, Bridget Newton, will lead a discussion about the task force at the January TPB meeting.

• TPB agenda item 12

Staff presented a user-friendly summary of the federal requirements for transportation agencies and MPOs to establish performance targets in six specific areas. This briefing is intended to serve as "Performance Planning 101" for the TPB at the January meeting. Later in 2017, staff will provide briefings on performance area-specific topics.

The following item were presented for information and discussion:

- Representatives of the Maryland Transit Administration (MTA) presented their recently established Transit Asset Management Initial Performance Targets for 2017. As a result of the Federal Performance Based Planning and Programming and the Transit Asset Management Rule, specifically, transit providers must have established targets for FY2018 by January 1, 2017.
- As noted above, one of the performance areas established by the federal agencies is Transit Assets. This requirement is applicable to all agencies that operate transit service and the agency or its jurisdictions receive federal transit funds. The committee was briefed on COG's targets for 2017. Other transit agencies were asked to provide a status update on their targets.

- The committee received a status report on the 2017-2018 regional household travel survey, including survey design, survey questionnaire and other materials development, survey sampling plan, and project schedule.
- Staff from the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transit (DRPT) briefed the committee on the I-395 transit transportation demand management (TDM) study. This study was conducted in conjunction with the I-395 Express Lanes extension to the Pentagon and I-95 Express Lanes extension to Fredericksburg. It identified transit and TDM projects in the corridor that would be eligible for toll funding. The study was completed in December 2016.
- Staff briefed the committee on the final federal rule on Metropolitan Planning Organization Coordination and Planning Area Reform which was finalized by U.S. DOT on December 20, 2016. The committee was briefed on the changes made to the final rule and the time frame for MPOs to comply with the new requirements.
- Staff reviewed the TPB's committee and sub-committee structure. The purpose of the review is to both highlight the many activities of the subcommittees that report to the Technical Committee and also to encourage representatives of the member jurisdictions to participate in the activities of these subcommittees.
- Staff briefed the committee on plans to analyze the regional transportation impacts of WMATA's SafeTrack program. TPB staff will be reaching out to collect supporting data, including transit ridership, bike counts, and other relevant data.
- Staff briefed the committee on a list of consensus recommendations on Greenhouse Gas Reductions that were developed by a Policy Task Force convened by the COG board.

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE – January 6, 2017

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

DDOT	Mark Rawlings
DCOP	

MARYLAND

Charles County _____ **Frederick County** David Whitaker City of Frederick **Timothy Davis** Gaithersburg Montgomery County **Gary Erenrich** Prince George's County Victor Weissberg Anthony Foster _____ **Montgomery County** -----

Prince George's County ------**MDOT** Kari Snyder Matt Baker _____

Takoma Park

VIRGINIA

Rockville

M-NCPPC

Alexandria	Pierre Holloman
Arlington County	Dan Malouff
City of Fairfax	
Fairfax County	Mike Lake
	Malcolm Watson
Falls Church	
Fauquier County	
Loudoun County	Robert Brown
Manassas	
NVTA	Sree Nampoothiri
NVTC	Patricia Happ
Prince William County	James Davenport
PRTC	Betsy Massie
VRE	Sonali Soneji
VDOT	Norman Whitaker
VDRPT	Tim Roseboom
	Todd Horsley
NVPDC	
VDOA	
<u>WMATA</u>	Allison Davis

FEDERAL/REGIONAL

THWA-DC	
HWA-VA	
ТА	
NCPC	
NPS	Laurel Hammig
/WAQC	
IWAA	

COG STAFF

Kanti Srikanth, DTP Lyn Erickson, DTP Ron Milone, DTP Andrew Meese, DTP Nicholas Ramfos, DTP Bill Bacon, DTP Lamont Cobb, DTP Michael Farrell, DTP Ben Hampton, DTP Charlene Howard, DTP Ken Joh, DTP Arianna Koudounas, DTP Jessica Mirr, DTP Mark Moran, DTP Dzung Ngo, DTP Jane Posey, DTP Eric Randall, DTP Sergio Ritacco, DTP Rich Roisman. DTP Jon Schermann, DTP Daivamani Sivasailam, DTP John Swanson, DTP Dusan Vuksan, DTP Feng Xie, DTP Lori Zeller, DTP Paul Deslardin, DCPS Nicole McCall, DCPS Steve Walz, DEP

OTHER

Alex Brun, MDE Jesus Hernandez, VDOT Jeannie Fazio, MTA Holly Arnold, MTA John Hartline, Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland Sonya Lewis-Cheatham, Virginia DEP **Bill Orleans**