TPB Technical Committee Meeting Highlights

July 9, 2004

The Technical Committee met on Friday, July 9 at COG. Four items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda on July 21.

TPB agenda Item 9

The Committee was briefed on the proposed work program for addressing the topics identified in the Transportation Research Board (TRB) review of the TPB modeling procedures.

TPB agenda Item 10

Staff reviewed the status of the first phase analysis of the Regional Mobility and Accessibility Study. These study results are scheduled to be presented at the Joint Technical Working Group (JTWG) meeting on July 16 and to the TPB on July 21.

TPB agenda Item 11

The Committee was given a status report on work for the air quality conformity assessment and the current and proposed transportation emission reduction measures (TERMs) for the 2004 CLRP and the FY 2005-2010 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). The Committee also was briefed on revisions to the draft FY 2005-2010 TIP document.

TPB agenda Item 12

The Committee was briefed on new air quality conformity requirements for the Washington region under the EPA's recent 8-hour ozone rule, and on the proposed new non-attainment area designations for PM 2.5.

One item was presented for information and discussion:

 The Committee received a presentation by Sergeant Brown of the Metropolitan Police Department on the safety impacts of speed and intersection red light enforcement using automated cameras in the District of Columbia.

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE - July 9, 2004

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA		FEDERAL/OTHER	
DDOT	Rick Rybeck	FHWA-DC	
MARYLAND		FTA	Deborah Burns
Frederick Co. Gaithersburg		NCPC	
Montgomery Co. Prince George's Co.	David Moss Cicero Salles	NPS	
Rockville	Kevin Thornton	MWAQC	
M-NCPPC Montgomery Co.	Alexander Hekimian	COG Staff and Others	
•	Faramarz Mokhtari	Ronald Kirby, COG/DTP Gerald Miller, COG/DTP	
MDOT	Fatimah Hasan Mike Haley	Mike Clifford, COG/DTP Jane Posey, COG/DTP Robert Griffiths, COG/DTP Mark Pfoutz, COG/DTP	
	BJ Berhanu		
<u>VIRGINIA</u>		Andy Meese, COG/DTP Andrew Austin, COG/DTP	
Alexandria	Jim Maslanka	Jim Hogan, COG/DTP	
Arlington Co.	Harriet Dietz	Mark Moran, COG/DTP	
City of Fairfax		Anant Choudhary, COG/DTP	
Fairfax Co.	Tom Biesiadny	Michael Freeman, COG/DTP	
	Robert O. Owolabi	Joan Rohlfs, COG/DEP	
Falls Church		Beth Lowe, COG/DEP	
Loudoun Co.		G. Toni Giardini, COG/DTP	
Manassas		Nicolas Ramfos, COG/DTP	
Prince William Co.	Rick Canizales	Julie Ruszczyk, VDOT-NOVA	
NVTC	Jana Lynott	Randy Carroll, MDE	
PRTC	Karen Waterman	Howard Chang, Tri-County Council	
VRE	Tamara Ashby	Paul DesJardin, COG/HSPPS	
VDOT	Kanathur Srikanth	Lalit Shavma, City of Alexandria	
VDRPT		Tim Nutter, NVTA	
NVPDC		Steven R. Brown, DCPD	
VDOA		Krute Singa, WMAT	
<u>WMATA</u>			nvironmental Defense
WMATA	Lora Byala	Radi Al-Saivafi, Environmental Defense Harry Sanders, Action Committee for Transit	