ITEM 8 - Action January 18, 2012

Approval of Appointments to the TPB Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) for the Year 2012

Staff

Recommendation: Appoint the fifteen members and alternates and

the chairman of the CAC for 2012.

Issues: None

Background: The TPB Participation Plan calls for the

appointment of 15 members to the CAC for each calendar year: six members designated

by the current CAC, and nine members nominated by the TPB officers. At the December 15 CAC meeting, six members were designated by the 2011 CAC to the CAC for the year 2012. Six members and alternates nominated by the 2012 Vice Chairs

will be presented. Chairman Turner will present the three members and alternates nominated by the 2012 TPB Chair, as well as the nomination for the chairman of the CAC

in 2012.

National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board

777 North Capitol Street, N.E., Suite 300, Washington, D.C. 20002-4290 (202) 962-3310 Fax: (202) 962-3202 TDD: (202) 962-3213

January 12, 2012

TO: Transportation Planning Board

FROM: Ronald F. Kirby, Director, Department of Transportation Planning
SUBJECT: Appointment of Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC) members for 2012

According to the TPB's Participation Plan, The Citizens Advisory Committee consists of 15 members. Six (6) of these members—two each from the District of Columbia, Virginia and Maryland— are designated by the previous year's CAC. Subsequently, the TPB officers nominate nine (9) individuals— three each from the District of Columbia, Virginia and Maryland. The Plan also states that the chair of the TPB will appoint the chair of the CAC.

The TPB is scheduled to appoint the 2012 CAC at the TPB's January 18 meeting so that the new committee can convene in February. The TPB officers have indicated they will nominate the individuals listed below. The TPB Chair Todd Turner is expected to announce the appointment of Tina Slater as CAC Chair. Applications or brief biographies for each of the citizens listed below are attached.

Maryland

Tina Slater, Chair designated by the 2011 CAC as a member;

to be appointed by TPB Chair Todd Turner as CAC chair

William Easter nominated by TPB Chair Todd Turner
Kelby Funn nominated by TPB Chair Todd Turner
Krystle Okafor nominated by TPB Chair Todd Turner

Emmet Tydings designated by the 2011 CAC

Justin Clarke, alternate nominated by TPB Chair Todd Turner
John Epps, alternate nominated by TPB Chair Todd Turner
Richard Ellis, alternate nominated by TPB Chair Todd Turner

Virginia

Maureen Budetti designated by the 2011 CAC
Allen Muchnick designated by the 2011 CAC

William Soltesz

Steven Still

Jeffrey Parnes

Fred Walker, alternate

Kimberley Kaplan, alternate

Peter Pennington, alternate

nominated by TPB Vice Chair Scott York

District of Columbia

Veronica Davis nominated by TPB Vice Chair Tommy Wells

Harold Foster designated by the 2011 CAC

Anita Hairston nominated by TPB Vice Chair Tommy Wells
Rob Mandle nominated by TPB Vice Chair Tommy Wells

Larry Martin designated by the 2011 CAC

Itir Sonuparlak, alternate nominated by TPB Vice Chair Tommy Wells
Mauricio Hernandez, alternate nominated by TPB Vice Chair Tommy Wells
Tracey Hadden Loh, alternate nominated by TPB Vice Chair Tommy Wells