## METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS 777 North Capitol Street, N.E. Washington, D.C. 20002-4239

## RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE APPOINTMENT OF A CHAIR FOR THE METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENT'S POLICY ADVISORY COMMITTEES

WHEREAS, the bylaws of the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG) authorize the Board of Directors to establish policy advisory committees in high priority areas; and

WHEREAS, these policy advisory committees play a vital role in supporting and updating the Board on various topics; and

WHEREAS, the COG's bylaws also authorize the Board of Directors to nominate the Chair of the policy committees; and

WHEREAS, the following policy committees support the COG Board of Directors: Metropolitan Development Policy Committee (MDPC), Human Services Policy Committee (HSPC), Public Safety Policy Committee (PSPC), Committee on Noise Abatement and Aviation at National and Dulles Airports (CONAANDA), Chesapeake Bay Policy Committee (CBPC); and

**WHEREAS**, the COG Board also established the National Capital Region Emergency Preparedness Council (NCREPC) to advise COG on national security and emergency preparedness issues, and further authorized the COG Board to appoint the NCREPC Chair.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE METROPOLITAN WASHINGTON COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS THAT:

The Board of Directors approves the appointment of the following members as Chair of their respective policy advisory committees: MDPC- Sharon Bulova, Fairfax County; HSPC- Vincent Grey, District of Columbia; PSPC- Ed Reiskin, District of Columbia; and the reappointments of Rob Krupicka, City of Alexandria, to CONAANDA and John Lovell, Frederick County to the CBPC. Gerald Connolly, Fairfax County, is appointed as Chair of the NCREPC.

----