TPB Technical Committee Meeting Highlights

September 3, 2004

The Technical Committee met on Friday, September 3 at COG. Three items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda on September 15.

TPB agenda Item 8

The Committee was given a status report on work for the air quality conformity assessment and the current and proposed transportation emission reduction measures (TERMs) for the 2004 CLRP and the FY 2005-2010 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). The Committee also was briefed on revisions to the draft FY 2005-2010 TIP document.

TPB agenda Item 9

Staff briefed the Committee on new air quality conformity requirements for the Washington region under the EPA's recent 8-hour ozone rule, and on the proposed new non-attainment area designations for PM 2.5. The Committee reviewed how the conformity test for the region could be conducted and agreed that retaining Stafford County in both budgets and emissions estimates should be recommended as the conformity test to the TPB. The Committee also was briefed on the 8-hour conformity assessment draft scope of work and the project submissions for 2010.

TPB agenda Item 11

Staff presented the first phase results of the five land use scenarios being assessed in the Regional Mobility and Accessibility Study. A "citizen-friendly" presentation on these results is scheduled to be presented at the Citizens Advisory Committee meeting on September 9, at the Joint Technical Working Group (JTWG) meeting on September 10, and at the TPB meeting on September 15.

Two items were presented for information and discussion:

- The Committee was briefed on the draft document: 2003 Update to the Financially Constrained Long-Range Transportation Plan.
- The Committee received a briefing on the draft 2004 State of Commute Survey Technical Report.

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE - September 3, 2004

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA		FEDERAL/OTHER	
DDOT	Rick Rybeck	FHWA-DC	
MARYLAND		FTA	Deborah Burns
Frederick Co. Gaithersburg	James Gugel	NCPC	
Montgomery Co. Prince George's Co.	David Moss	NPS	
Rockville M-NCPPC		MWAQC	
Montgomery Co.	Alexander Hekimian Faramarz Mokhtari	COG Staff and Others	
Timee George 5 eo.		Ronald Kirby, COG/DTP Gerald Miller, COG/DTP Mike Clifford, COG/DTP	
MDOT			
	Mike Haley		
	BJ Berhanu	Jane Posey, COG/DT	"P
		Robert Griffiths, COG/DTP	
VIRGINIA		Mark Pfoutz, COG/DTP	
		Wendy Klancher, CC	OG/DTP
Alexandria	Maria White	Andrew Austin, COG/DTP	
Arlington Co.	Mark Kellogg	Jim Hogan, COG/DTP	
City of Fairfax	Alex Verzosa	William Bacon, COG/DTP	
Fairfax Co.	Tom Biesiadny	Anant Choudhary, COG/DTP	
	Robert O. Owolabi	Michael Freeman, COG/DTP	
Falls Church		Joan Rohlfs, COG/DEP	
Loudoun Co.	Arthur Smith	Daivamani Sivasailam, COG/DEP	
Manassas		G. Toni Giardini, COG/DTP	
Prince William Co.	Rick Canizales	Nicolas Ramfos, COG/DTP	
NVTC		Randy Carroll, MDE	
PRTC	Karen Waterman	Paul DesJardin, COG/HSPPS	
VRE	Tamara Ashby	Tim Nutter, NVTA	
VDOT	Kanathur Srikanth	Jim Wamsley, FCSG	
	Julie Ruszczyk	Amy Horner, SABW	
VDRPT		Michael Replogle, Environmental Defense	
NVPDC		Harry Sanders, Action Committee for Transit	
VDOA		Jill Locantore, COG/DTP	
<u>WMATA</u>			

WMATA

Lora Byala