June 1, 2012

The Technical Committee met on June 1 at COG. Four items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda on June 20.

TPB agenda Item 7

The Committee was briefed on the 2012 solicitation and competitive selection process for the Federal Transit Administration's (FTA's) Job Access Reverse Commute (JARC) and New Freedom program funding for the Washington Urbanized Area. The Board will be asked to approve the selected projects for funding at the June 20 meeting.

TPB agenda Item 9

The Committee was briefed on the draft conformity analysis of the 2012 CLRP and FY 2013-2018 TIP. This conformity assessment and draft plan and TIP were released for public comment on June 14. The TPB will be asked to approve and conformity assessment at its July 18 meeting.

• TPB agenda Item 10

The Committee was briefed on the draft 2012 CLRP and FY 2013-2018 TIP which were released for public comment on June 14. After the 30-day comment period, the TPB will be asked to approve the 2012 CLRP and FY 2013-2018 TIP at its July 18 meeting.

TPB agenda Item 12

The TPB Regional Transportation Priorities Plan (RTPP) will identify near and long term regional strategies that offer the greatest potential contributions toward addressing regional challenges. The Committee was briefed on the June 2 focus group that will examine how meaningful proposed regional challenges and strategies are to the general public, and on potential further public outreach activities for the development of the priorities plan.

Two items were presented for information and discussion:

• At its March 21, 2012 meeting, the TPB approved a letter to the Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee (MWAQC) recommending the incorporation of safety margins of 20 percent and 30 percent into out-year mobile emissions budgets for 2017 and 2025 respectively in a PM2.5 maintenance plan under development by MWAQC. The Committee was briefed on proposed additional TPB staff analyses of the potential impacts of changes to the mix and age of the vehicle fleet to be transmitted to MWAQC in support of the TPB's March 21 letter.

On March 15, 2012 the Senate approved MAP-21, a two-year reauthorization proposal, and on April 18 the House approved HR 4348, a reauthorization proposal with an extension of SAFETEA-LU through September 30, 2012 along with other provisions. A conference committee has been appointed to negotiate a final bill. The Committee was updated on the likely schedule for further Congressional action on the reauthorization of Federal surface transportation legislation.

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE - June 1, 2012

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

FEDERAL/OTHER

DDOT	Mark Rawlings	FHWA-DC	
DCOP	Dan Emerine	FHWA-VA	
		FTA	
MARYLAND		NCPC	
		NPS	
Charles County	Jason Groth	MWAQC	
Frederick Co.	Ron Burns		
City of Frederick	Tim Davis	COG Staff	
Gaithersburg			
Montgomery Co.	Gary Erenrich	Ronald Kirby, DTP	
Prince George's Co.	•	Gerald Miller, DTP	
Rockville		Mark Pfoutz, DTP	
M-NCPPC		Jane Posey, DTP	
Montgomery Co.		Robert Griffiths, DTP)
Prince George's Co.		Rich Roisman, DTP	
MDOT	Lyn Erickson	Andrew Austin, DTP	
	Renna Mathews	Beth Newman, DTP	
MTA		Andrew Austin DTP	
Takoma Park		Ron Milone, DTP	
		Elena Constantine, D'	TP
<u>VIRGINIA</u>		Eric Randall, DTP	
		Yu Gao, DTP	
Alexandria	Jim Maslanka	Jinchul Park, DTP	
Arlington Co.	Dan Malouff	Dusan Vuksan, DTP	
City of Fairfax	Alexis Verzosa	William Bacon, DTP	
Fairfax Co.	Mike Lake	Daniel Son, DTP	
Falls Church		Anant Choudhary, D7	ГР
Loudoun Co.	Robert Brown	Jim Yin, DTP	
Manassas		Stuart Freudberg, DE	P
Prince William Co.		<i>O</i> ,	
NVTC		Other Attendees	
PRTC	Nick Alexandrow		
VRE	Christine Hoeffner	Randy Carroll, MDE	
VDOT	Kanathur Srikanth	Bill Orleans, HACK	
VDRPT	Amy Inman		
NVPDC			
VDOA			
WMATA			

WMATA Danielle Wesolek