May 4, 2012

The Technical Committee met on May 4 at COG. Three items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda on May 16.

TPB agenda Item 7

At its April 18 meeting, the TPB was briefed and provided comments on a revised Complete Streets Policy document which reflected several months of discussion by state and local agencies and interested citizens. The Committee was briefed on the draft final Complete Streets Policy and recommended that it be presented to the TPB for approval at its May 16 meeting.

TPB agenda Item 9

In Spring 2011, 2,200 households in seven focused geographic subareas of the region were surveyed to obtain demographic information and travel data for more intensive analysis of specific growth and transportation issues. These subareas include Metrorail station areas, highway corridors with recent or planned major improvements, proposed light rail study areas, and regional activity centers with specific characteristics. The Committee was briefed on the household travel characteristics and behavior identified in different subareas of the region, and on the schedule for surveying additional subareas.

TPB agenda Item 11

On March 15, 2012 the Senate approved MAP-21, a two-year reauthorization proposal, and on April 18 the House approved HR 4348, a reauthorization proposal with an extension of SAFETEA-LU through September 30, 2012 along with other provisions. A conference committee has been appointed to negotiate a final bill. The Committee was updated on the likely schedule for further Congressional action on the reauthorization of Federal surface transportation legislation.

Four items were presented for information and discussion:

- The COG Board established the Region Forward Coalition in 2011 to oversee implementation of the Region Forward report's vision, goals and Compact. At their April 27th meeting, Coalition members were briefed on the final draft Baseline Progress Report on the targets and indicators, and work to date by the Planning Directors and Coalition members to update the Regional Activity Center maps. The Committee was briefed on the final draft baseline report and the status of the regional activity centers update.
- The National Capital Region was selected as one of three NCHRP Project 08-36 pilot sites for a study of the Performance-Based Planning and Program (PBPP) process, with a focus on congestion and the use of performance measures to

inform decisions regarding capacity improvements along bus priority corridors in Maryland. Cambridge Systematics Inc. is conducting the study and held two workshops in December 2011 and April 2012. Participants included staff from TPB, Maryland DOT, Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA), Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC), and Montgomery and Prince George's Counties. The Committee was briefed on the workshop activities and schedule for the completion of the study.

- The schedule for the 2012 CLRP and FY 2013-2018 TIP calls for the CLRP and TIP inputs and required Congestion Management forms to be submitted by May 1. The Committee was updated on the status of the CLRP and TIP inputs and received an initial draft TIP for review. A final draft TIP will be produced for the June 1 Technical Committee meeting and then released for public comment at the Citizens Advisory Committee meeting on June 14. After the 30-day comment period, the TPB will be asked to approve the 2012 CLRP, FY 2013-2018 TIP and Air Quality Conformity Assessment at its July 18 meeting.
- The Committee was briefed on the current status of the TPB Regional Priority Bus Project which includes 16 project components being implemented by five project owners under a \$58 million TIGER grant administered by FTA.

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE - May 4, 2012

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

DDOT	Mark Rawlings
DCOP	Art Rodgers
	Dan Emerine

MARYLAND

Charles County	Jason Groth
Frederick Co.	
City of Frederick	
Gaithersburg	
Montgomory Co	Comy Enonni

Montgomery Co. Gary Erenrich Prince George's Co. Vic Weissberg

Rockville -----

M-NCPPC

Montgomery Co. -----

Prince George's Co. Harold Foster MDOT Lyn Erickson

Renna Mathews Roy Gothie

MTA -----Takoma Park ------

VIRGINIA

Alexandria Pierre Holloman Arlington Co. Dan Malouff City of Fairfax Alexis Verzosa Fairfax Co. Mike Lake

Falls Church ------

Loudoun Co. Robert Brown

Manassas -----

Prince William Co. Gregg Steverson NVTC Claire Gron

PRTC Nick Alexandrow

VRE -----VDOT -----

VDRPT Amy Inman

NVPDC ------VDOA ------

WMATA

WMATA Mark Kellogg

FEDERAL/OTHER

FHWA-DC	
FHWA-VA	
FTA	
NCPC	
NPS	
MWAQC	

COG Staff

Ronald Kirby, DTP
Gerald Miller, DTP
Mark Pfoutz, DTP
Nicholas Ramfos, DTP
Robert Griffiths, DTP
Rich Roisman, DTP
Andy Meese, DTP
Michael Farrell, DTP
Andrew Austin DTP
Ron Milone, DTP
Elena Constantine, DTP
Eric Randall, DTP
Huijing Qiang, DTP
Wenjing Pu, DTP

Other Attendees

Michael Weinberger, CMR Transit Danielle Wesolek, WMATA Randy Carroll, MDE David Rodgers, MD SHA Bill Orleans, HACK