TPB Technical Committee Meeting Highlights

December 5, 2008

The Technical Committee met on December 5 at COG. Five items were reviewed for inclusion on the TPB agenda on December 17.

TPB agenda Item 8

The Committee was briefed on the potential applicability of California measure SB375 and other alternative approaches for linking greenhouse gas emissions reductions to metropolitan transportation planning in the Washington region.

<u>TPB agenda Item 9</u>

The Committee was briefed on the status and development of the land use and transportation components of the "CLRP Aspirations" scenario and the analysis approach and products for the "What Would It Take" scenario.

TPB agenda Item 10

Staff briefed the Committee on the schedule and draft scope of work for the conformity assessment of the 2009 CLRP and FY 2010-2015 TIP. The Committee discussed the possibility of a delay in submitting project inputs for the assessment because of the current funding uncertainties at the state and local levels.

TPB agenda Item 11

The Committee was briefed on WMATA's 2011-2020 Capital Needs Inventory, the available capital funding levels and need for a regional funding strategy, and the next steps for prioritizing the capital needs.

TPB agenda Item 12

The Committee was briefed on a list recommended by the Regional Bus Subcommittee of high priority bus projects of regional significance that could have near-term benefits on bus operations.

One item was presented for information and discussion:

Staff distributed the final draft FY 2009-2014 TIP brochure which is a public-friendly description of the TIP.

Two items were deferred to the January meeting:

- A briefing on FY-2009 models development consultant task order research
- A briefing on the 2007 Washington-Baltimore Regional Air Passenger Survey

TPB TECHNICAL COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES ATTENDANCE - December 5, 2008

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

DDOT	

MARYLAND

Rick Rybeck Ronald Mitchell

John Thomas

Gary Erenrich

Tim Davis

Eric Graye

Lyn Erickson

Shiva Shrestha

FEDERAL/OTHER

FHWA-DC	
FHWA-VA	
FTA	
NCPC	
NPS	
MWAQC	
FEMA/DHS	

COG Staff

Ronald Kirby, DTP Gerald Miller, DTP Mike Clifford, DTP Mark Pfoutz, DTP Andrew Austin, DTP Jim Hogan, DTP Andrew Meese, DTP Jane Posey, DTP Michael Eisler, DTP Daivamani Sivasailam, DTP Sarah Crawford, DTP Bob Griffiths, DTP Feng Xie, DTP Greg Goodwin, DCPS Rex Hodgson, DTP Darrenh Smith, DTP Monica Bansal, DTP Tim Canan, DTP William Bacon, DTP Dusan Vuksan, DTP Robert Snead, DTP Jim Yin, DTP Joan Rohlfs, DEP

Other Particpants

Randy Carroll, MDE Otto Clemente, Fairfax County DOT Joseph Madison, MTA Lenny Howard, MTA

Charles County Frederick Co. City of Frederick Gaithersburg Montgomery Co. Prince George's Co. Rockville M-NCPPC Montgomery Co. Prince George's Co.

VIRGINIA

MDOT

Alexandria	Jim Maslanka
Arlington Co.	Dan Malouff
City of Fairfax	Alexis Verzosa
Fairfax Co.	Robert Owolabi
	Tom Biesiadny
Falls Church	
Loudoun Co.	Art Smith
Manassas	
Prince William Co.	Monica Backmon
NVTC	
PRTC	Anthony Foster
VRE	
VDOT	Kanathur Srikanth
VDRPT	
NVPDC	
VDOA	

<u>WMATA</u>

WMATA

Clayton Ashby Tom Harrington